I have never considered adding a pindo palm to my landscape because of the heavy clay that I live (and garden) in.    But Alvin’s latest “freeze fix” has me reconsidering.

One of Alvin’s friends, who had suffered suffered freeze damage, asked about some cold-hardy alternatives.

pindo-2

He said pindo – and she kicked it up a notch with an incredible pot!     This combo has me strolling through my yard looking for a plain spot that could use a gorgeous focal point.

The Pindo Palm or Butia capitata grow natively in Brazil and Uruaguay.   Their mature height is 20 – 25 feet tall.    This slow grower is a water-wise (i.e. doesn’t need alot) plant.   It also has a high salt tolerance, making it a great choice for coastal areas.

The one thing that I have found that it will not tolerate is being planted in heavy clay.   The clay tends to tie up nitrogen particles causing a plant to look yellow and sickly.     If you have clay, try growing in a container or amend, amend, amend!

For more information, click here for a downloadable pindo information sheet.

 

