A dreary, rainy day is perfect for planning and I have palm trees on my mind!   Palm trees add a tropical, take-me-away feeling to any landscape.    Here are a few great ways to use them in your garden or landscape project:

Plant for space definition:  Use in rows to line something or define boundaries

img_6926These Queen or Cocus Palms line the circular drive giving it definition.

img_6927These three royal palms define the side boundary of this front yard.

Use palms as a filler:

palmlandscape09

This pygmy date palm (Phoenix roebellinii) is a beautiful filler for this planting  bed.   Its spreading fronds fill the space in and easy-care way.

Plant a large specimen palm alone as a FOCAL POINT:

pindo-2

Actually a palm doesn’t have to  be large to be a specimen.  This small pindo  is definitely an attention grabber!   The drop-dead gorgeous pot helps too.

Combine different heights, leaf shapes, and leaf colors.

palms

I find this very attractive but think it would really grab me if there was a little more variety in the frond shapes.

palms2

RULE OF THUMB:   Mix tall feather palms with short fan palms.   Mix tall fan palms with short feather palms.

Plant them in groups for shade: 

palm shade

For added drama, put some light on them when the sun goes down! 

tropical-landscape

These uplights and spotlights are good for both safety and beauty.

Just looking through palm pictures has me dreaming of hot tropical weather and wondering where I can create a little tropical oasis of my own.

